Donkey Punch (UK, 2008)

There will be blood

There will be blood

It’s good to see British genre movies competing with Hollywood; unfortunately they need to be better than this; imdb.com notes the film took £22 one weekend. What’s wrong with it? I’m not best placed to answer as it’s aimed at a younger demographic however I think, though it sets up the situation well, the denoument (French for ‘unraveling’ I’ve recently learned) is wholly unconvincing. I also struggled to care about the characters; though that’s fairly normal in horror films aimed at 16-25 year olds.

It happens to be the first film I’ve seen on blu-ray and the picture quality was stunning. Just like the arrival of DVD, over 10 years ago, there was the frisson of seeing a more cinematic-quality image in the home. However I am going to resist replacing my DVDs with blu-ray though if there is a film that I ‘must have’ then I shall probably be sucked in to paying the premium price.

Leave a Reply

